How to Erase Complete Data from iPhone before Selling or Discarding it

With new and updated features being released with every new iPhone every year, it has become a must to sell or replace your Old iPhone with a new device every year to get the best of all the latest features. This means you need to either sell your old iPhone or return it to the carrier to exchange it with the latest device. This requires Erasing or deleting all your Personal data like contacts, Media – Photos and Videos, SMS, Calender Schedules etc from your old iPhone.

There are some simple steps which let you Erase everything from your iPhone before you sell it. Before starting with the Erasing process you need to first Back up or save all your important data like Contacts, documents, calendars, photos, videos etc. The Erasing process will permanently delete all the data which cannot be recovered later, so it is important to first save your data.

Note: Do not Manually Delete any data like contacts, calendars, photos, Videos which you are signed in your iCloud account as this deletes the backed up data from your iCloud account as well.

Back Up your iPhone Data:

This is the first thing which should be done before Erasing all the data in your iPhone, there are two methods – Back up data on iCloud or iTunes. I will be showing the method to Backup using both the platforms, it is up to you to decide which you want to proceed with.

Note: Backing up data on iTunes is much faster when compared to iCloud as with iTunes the data is backed up on your Computer while in iCloud it is stored or uploaded onto iCloud servers. In case of iTunes you need a Computer which is not required in iCloud.

Steps to Backup iPhone Data using iCloud:

Step 1: Connect your iPhone to a trusted WiFi or Cellular network

Step 2: Tap on Settings and then tap on your Apple ID Name

Step 3: Under Apple ID settings you will be seeing iCloud and iTunes & App Store options, tap on iCloud

Step 4: Now you will be seeing the option iCloud Backup (will be turned off), tap on it

Step 5: Here turn on the toggle switch if it is turned Off and below that you need to tap on Back Up Now option

Step 6: The Backup process with start and it will take anywhere from a few minutes to an hour for all the data to be backed up depending on the amount of data and your WiFi or Cellular Network speed.

Step to Back up iPhone Data using iTunes:

You require a Computer and iTunes installed in it to use this method to back up your Data on iTunes.

Step 1: Launch iTunes on your computer and connect your iPhone to the computer using a USB cable

Step 2: Now you need to click on the Phone icon seen in the top bar to reveal the iTunes settings Menu

Step 3: Here in the Sidebar you need to click on the Summary option which reveals the details of your iPhone

Step 4: Under Summary, scroll through the options to go to Backups section, now select or check the option – This Computer and then click on the Backup Now button which is seen under the Manually Backup and Restore option.

Note: In case you want to save or Backup account passwords, health and home kit data you need to click or select “Encrypt iPhone Back Up”. Make sure that you note down the Password to keep the Encrypted Back up files safe.

Step 5:  You will be taken to the Back up Page which will show you the progress of your iPhone Backup, the time taken to back up data will depend on the amount of data which is present.

Sign Out and Erase Complete Data from iPhone:

Now that you have Backed up all your Data from your iPhone either onto iCloud or on your Computer using iTunes its time to Signout of all your Acoounts on your iPhone – iCloud, iTunes, App Store, Mails etc. Once you sign out of all the accounts you need to Clear all the data.

Step 1: Tap on Settings and then Tap on your Apple ID

Step 2: At the bottom of the page, tap on Sign Out 

Step 3: You will be prompted to Sign In to your account via a Pop up box, enter your Apple ID and password and tap on Turn Off

This will Sign you out of all the accounts on your iPhone – iCloud, iTunes and App Store. Now you can Erase all the Data from your iPhone permanently.

Steps to Erase Data from iPhone:

Step 1: Go to Settings

Step 2: Now tap on General, Scroll to the bottom of the page and tap on Reset

Step 3: In the Reset page, you will be seeing the options – Reset all settings and Erase all Content and Settings (Tap on this)

Step 4: This will initiate the Factory Reset process and you will be done, your iPhone will be back to the way it was when it was out of the box.

Now you can either sell or trade your old iPhone with others with all your data and settings erased completly from your iPhone.

Leave a Reply