Google maps in your smartphone is very useful to help find any location but at the same time Google stores all the search terms and also the locations which you have searched, this helps us search for any location which we might have visited but it also increases the data stored on your device under the Google maps app.
There might be instances when you are selling your device and want to delete all the data stored in the maps app before selling your device. So you have to delete all the search terms and location data from Google maps which can be done by following the steps mentioned below.
- Launch “Google Maps” App in your android device.
- On the top left of the screen you can see three horizontal lines placed beside the search bar, tap on it to open the Menu.
- Scroll down to the bottom in the menu and tap on “Settings” option
- From the settings options tap on “Maps History” to open it.
- Now you can see the list of search terms and locations which you have searched. Now you can see all the search history and can delete them.
- There is a problem, you cannot delete all the search terms at once but have to delete each individual search term or location one by one.
- You can see a “X” mark on the right of the term which when tapped on deletes the search term and location. So you can delete the terms which you don’t want to share and leave the ones you are not worried about.
By deleting the search terms and location you will be deleting all the data related to the location so make sure that you don’t want the data stored in the Maps App and then go ahead with the deletion.